h1

How To Break The Ice

September 13, 2007

…or ~ MY FIRST MEMORY, or ~ CHILDHOOD AMNESIA, or OF COURSE IT IS A SEXUAL THING, SIGMUND FREUD SAID SO, heY!

Everybody does it! OK, yeah, sex too, but I mean, play that conversation game by asking; “What was your first childhood memory?” And, is there anything that is not related to sex or that Sigmund Freud did not weigh-in on? I think if he and I were at the same cocktail party I would go mingle in my car. What a damn know-it-all, heY! If re-incarnation is true, I hope he will return as a clerk at a large DIY store, cause I can never find anybody there that can even show me where is the front door! I do not know what any of this has to do with sex or shaving your head or going commando in public, but here’s (briefly, what I can glow) where Freud was headed:

…It was Sigmund Freud who offered one of the first, most famous, and most controversial descriptions/explanations of childhood amnesia when he tied the phenomenon in with his other psychological theories (Freud, 1916; Bauer, 2004 – yes, I am being held accountable and forced to study this shizzt).

Sigmund Freud’s theories of psychosexual development are highly intertwined with childhood experiences, and Freud’s explanation of childhood amnesia is one of the most controversial. In what is now published as The Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud, Freud theorized that childhood amnesia is the result of the mind’s attempt to repress memories of traumatic events that, according to Freud, necessarily occur in the psychosexual development of every child. This would lead to the repression of memory of the majority of the first years of life (Gleitman, et al., 2004).

Whatever. You go study. I just like pictures.

memory_anemi.jpg

“EVERYBODY IS UP TO SOMETHING, heY!”

b.jpg

~ X anemi, heY!

Leave a Reply

